**Before**
- any user with workpace_members permission was able to remove a user
from their workspace. This triggered the deletion of workspaceMember +
of userWorkspace, but did not delete the user (even if they had no
workspace left) nor the roleTarget (acts as junction between role and
userWorkspace) which was left with a userWorkspaceId pointing to
nothing. This is because roleTarget points to userWorkspaceId but the
foreign key constraint was not implemented
- any user could delete their own account. This triggered the deletion
of all their workspaceMembers, but not of their userWorkspace nor their
user nor the roleTarget --> we have orphaned userWorkspace, not
technically but product wise - a userWorkspace without a workspaceMember
does not make sense
So the problems are
- we have some roleTargets pointing to non-existing userWorkspaceId
(which caused https://github.com/twentyhq/twenty/issues/14608 )
- we have userWorkspaces that should not exist and that have no
workspaceMember counterpart
- it is not possible for a user to leave a workspace by themselves, they
can only leave all workspaces at once, except if they are being removed
from the workspace by another user
**Now**
- if a user has multiple workspaces, they are given the possibility to
leave one workspace while remaining in the others (we show two buttons:
Leave workspace and Delete account buttons). if a user has just one
workspace, they only see Delete account
- when a user leaves a workspace, we delete their workspaceMember,
userWorkspace and roleTarget. If they don't belong to any other
workspace we also soft-delete their user
- soft-deleted users get hard deleted after 30 days thanks to a cron
- we have two commands to clean the orphans roleTarget and userWorkspace
(TODO: query db to see how many must be run)
**Next**
- once the commands have been run, we can implement and introduce the
foreign key constraint on roleTarget
Fixes https://github.com/twentyhq/twenty/issues/14608
Closes https://github.com/twentyhq/core-team-issues/issues/526
(for reminder:
1. Make defaultRoleId non-nullable for an active workspace
2. Remove permissions V1 feature flag
3. Set member role as default role for new workspaces
About 1.:
An active workspace's defaultRoleId should never be null.
We can't rely on a simple postgres NOT NULL constraint as defaultRoleId
will always be initially null when the workspace is first created since
the roles do not exist at that time.
Let's add a more complex rule to ensure that
About 3.:
In the first phase of our deploy of permissions, we chose to assign
admin role to all existing users, not to break any existing behavior
with the introduction of the feature (= existing users have less rights
than before).
As we deploy permissions to all existing and future workspaces, let's
set the member role as default role for future workspaces.
)
A user should not be able to delete their account if they are the last
admin of a workspace.
It means that if a user wants to sign out of twenty, they should delete
their workspace, not their account