--- title: Permissions info: "Learn how to control access: assign roles and set permissions." image: /images/user-guide/permissions/permissions.png sectionInfo: Configure your Twenty workspace settings and preferences --- Header Twenty's permission system allows you to control access to three main areas: - **Objects and Fields**: Control who can view, edit, or delete records and individual fields - **Settings**: Manage access to workspace configuration and administrative functions - **Actions**: Control general workspace actions like importing data or sending emails ## Create a Role To create a new role: 1. Go to **Settings → Roles** 2. Under **All Roles**, click on **+ Create Role** 3. Enter a role name 4. In the default **Permissions** tab, configure permissions 5. Click **Save** to finish ## Delete a Role To delete a role: 1. Go to **Settings → Roles** 2. Click on the role you want to remove 3. Open the **Settings** tab, then click **Delete Role** 4. Click **Confirm** in the modal Note: If a role is deleted, any workspace member assigned to it will be automatically reassigned to the default role. All except the **Admin** role can be deleted. There must always be at least one member assigned to the **Admin** role. ## Assign Roles to Members ### View Current Assignments - Go to **Settings → Roles** - See all roles and how many members are assigned to each - View which members have which roles ### Assign a Role to a Member 1. Go to **Settings → Roles** 2. Click on the role you want to assign 3. Open the **Assignment** tab 4. Click **+ Assign to member** 5. Select the workspace member from the list 6. Confirm the assignment ### Set Default Role 1. Go to **Settings → Roles** 2. In the **Options** section, find **Default Role** 3. Select which role new members should automatically receive 4. New workspace members will be assigned this role when they join **Note**: You can only assign roles to existing workspace members. To invite new members, use [Member Management](/user-guide/settings/member-management). ## Customize Permissions Permissions determine what each role can access or modify within your workspace, including workspace objects records, settings, and actions. ### Object and Field Permissions Control access to records and individual fields: #### Object-Level Permissions - Under **All Objects**, apply permissions like **See Record**, **Edit Records**, **Delete Records**, or **Destroy Records** to all objects - Under **Object-Level Permissions**, configure exceptions for individual objects. These override the settings from **All Objects** #### Field-Level Permissions - Configure permissions for individual fields within each object - Control who can **See Field**, **Edit Field**, or have **No Access** to specific fields - Field permissions work the same way as object permissions with inheritance and overrides #### Managing Permission Overrides To override parent permissions and apply stricter rules: - Click **X** to remove the inherited rule - Select the specific permissions for the selected object or field - Click the orange **Undo** icon (circular arrow) to revert changes When done, click **Finish**, then **Save** once redirected to the role page. ### Workspace Settings Permissions Control access to workspace settings in two ways: - Toggle **Settings All Access** to grant full access - Or enable specific permissions (e.g., API key generation, workspace preferences, role assignment, data model configuration, security settings, and workflow management) ### Workspace Action Permissions Control access to general workspace actions: - Toggle **Application All Access** to grant full permissions - Or enable individual actions such as **Send Email**, **Import CSV**, and **Export CSV**